Do I Dare Call Any Of My Pieces Steampunk? Or Gothic?

I’m so intrigued by steampunk styles of jewelry.  But – I’ve been nervous about referring to any of my pieces as “steampunk”, even though I think a number of them fit the (rather nebulous) definition.  The minute I call something of mine “steampunk”, the “All-Knowing Arbiter of Steampunk” (aka Some Random Internet Jerk) will come along and tell me I’m completely stoopid. (Misspelling intentional.)  Same thing with Gothic styles.

Why am I worrying about what anyone, other than my customers, think?

I dislike being pigeonholed as much as the next artist, but it’s easier for customers to find the jewelry they love if it’s categorized.

It’s funny – oftentimes people trying to provide examples of steampunk point to the 60s TV series “The Wild Wild West” – but I could never STAND that show!  I’ll bet it was a blast to be the set decorator on that show, though.  Another example, one that I love, is the movie version of “The Time Machine”.  It’s real eye candy for Victorian and Steampunk lovers, from the decor of the sets, to the period clothing, to the design of the time machine itself.  My favorite scene? The ladies’ fashions going by in sped-up motion.

I would rather expend my energy making the jewelry my customers love, than worrying what Random Internet Jerk thinks.

Leave a comment