Here we go!

Hello everyone!  I’m Kristine Schroeder, a/k/a The Wiresculptress.  I’ve been making jewelry with jeweler’s wire for nine years now, and have been selling my work from various places on the Internet for over five years.

I am deeply indebted to so many for everything I’ve learned so far: people like Preston Reuther, Ricky Jorgensen, the late Corey Rudl, and especially Rena Klingenberg.  Incidentally, Rena was on my e-mail list back in 2003 – I’m sure she learned a lot about how NOT to do e-mail marketing from me…

So, I’ve been thinking about the future of The Wiresculptress quite a bit lately, and I’ve decided to give it another big push, after neglecting it for awhile.  My full-time job is complicating matters somewhat.

Fashion Cameo in Gold Wire

Fashion Cameo in Gold Wire

Events beyond my control in my personal life forced me to take full-time employment.  I won’t bore you with the details, but my job requires me to make collection calls, among other things.  It is soul-sucking work.  That’s part of the reason I started my blog: to get my mind off my job.

Mainly, I’m blogging about my jewelry art because I’ve decided something important:  I plan to be out of the workplace in five years.  I’m serious.  And I’m inviting you along for the ride.

Ride along with me, won’t you?

2 comments on “Here we go!

  1. Hi Kristine,

    It’s so kind of you to mention me here! Thank you so much for the lovely compliment.

    Ever since I first saw your work several years ago, I’ve always been impressed with your eye for making high quality wire jewelry. I really study wirework closely because it’s a medium I love, and your pieces always have those nuances of balance, proportion, precise wraps, and smooth curves that to me are the mark of a master. I especially love the wrap you did on the owl cameo!

    I wanted to say how much I can relate to the independence / isolation issue you mention in a later post here. I’ve always been somewhat of an independent isolationist too. I just seem to think better, function better, and create better with a couple hours of complete solitude every day.

    I’m wishing you every success in leaving your workplace in less than five years, Kristine!

    Take care.
    Rena

  2. wiresculptress says:

    Oh gosh, I’m blushing! *smiles*

    I enjoy my solitude too, and I’m lucky to have the opportunity for quiet time nearly every day. The bad side of isolation is that I’ve been forced to re-invent several wheels, but I’m learning to search for solutions, learning to ask for help.

    There’s the shyness issue to overcome as well…

    Someone wiser than I said, “Fight your fears with action”. Isn’t that true?

Leave a comment